FORBES CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS

JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY.

School of Music

presents

JMU Jazz Band Greg Thomas, director

JMU Jazz Ensemble
Chuck Dotas, director

Tuesday, February 25, 2025 7:30 pm Concert Hall



There will be one 15-minute intermission.

Jazz Band

Ahunk, Ahunk Thad Jones

Luke Lerner, alto sax Stuart Murphy, tenor sax Sean Wyatt, tenor sax Luke Jacobson, piano Julian Euvrard, keyboard

A Warm Breeze Sammy Nestico

Ben Ellwood

Luke Jacobson, piano Elise Donley, alto sax Luke Lerner, tenor sax

New Orleans Hoagy Carmichael
Elise Donley, alto sax arr. Peterson

Elise Donley, alto sax Ben Ellwood, trombone Lyra Ward, trombone Jamie Johnson, trumpet Luke Jacobson, piano Ginny Bruno, vocals

Hobo Flats Oliver Nelson

John Rosario Cruz, alto sax Katia Birch, trumpet Caleb Roden, trumpet Thomas Murphy, trombone Julien Euvrard, piano

15-Minute Intermission

Jazz Ensemble

Who, Me? Frank Foster

Chris Atkinson, trumpet Sammy Nelson, tenor sax Ryan Leith, piano Owen Brown, trumpet

Fallin' Off the "A" Train Jacob Minks

Benji Loeffler, alto sax Sam Loeffler, trumpet

Le Blues à Joe Joe Sullivan

Alexander Lau, bari sax Adam Army, alto sax Jacob Minks, bass

I Got News for You Irene Higgenbotham/
Iris Leffler, vocal Sid Shaw

Owen Brown, trumpet arr. Ralph Burns

Malinke's Dance Marty Ehrlich

Ben Scott, guitar arr. Chuck Dotas Evan Bertoglio, tenor sax

The Jody Grind Horace Silver
David Barredo, tenor sax arr. John Clayton

David Barredo, tenor sax Teague Jenkins, trombone Gabe Cabellero, trombone Bradley Fuller, trombone Levi Markle, trombone

Jazz Band Personnel

Woodwinds

Valerie Alvarado, clarinet Preston Davis, clarinet Luke Lerner, lead alto sax Tyler Hofstetler, alto sax John Rosario Cruz, alto sax Elise Donley, lead tenor sax Stuart Murphy, tenor sax Sean Wyatt, tenor sax Alyssa Bonner, bari sax Jaylen Swafford, bari sax

Trumpets

Jamie Johnson, (lead) Jocelyn Moyer Liam Meadows Caleb Roden Ekaterina Birch Jacob Taylor

Trombones

Ben Ellwood, lead Lyra Ward C.J. Brown Jackson Frease Thomas Murphy Eli Marshall Gavin Torrence (bass) James Wilson (bass)

Rhythm Section

Luke Jacobson, piano, vibes Julien Euvrard, piano, vibes Kiki Protopsaltis, bass James Higgins, drums, percussion

Vocals

Virginia Bruno

Jazz Ensemble Personnel

<u>Saxophones</u>

Benji Loeffler, alto Adam Army, alto Evan Bertoglio, tenor David Barredo, tenor Sammy Nelson, tenor Alexander Lau, bari

<u>Trumpets</u>

Owen Brown Chris Atkinson Ryan Johnson Sam Loeffler

Trombones

Gabe Cabellero
Teague Jenkins
Nikhil Argade
Levi Markle
Bradley Fuller
Henry Taylor, bass

Rhythm Section

Ryan Leith, piano Ben Scott, guitar Jacob Minks, bass Ethan Walker, drums Grayson Creekmore, drums/percussion

Vocal

Iris Leffler